Winners Announced for CMAA’s Industry Excellence Awards

The Construction Management Association of America (CMAA) has announced the winners of its 2022 Industry Excellence Awards.

CMAA’s Award Program recognizes excellence in construction management practice and honors companies and individuals each year based on merit. A panel of judges reviews each nomination carefully and chooses the best candidate in each category.

Carla CollinsCarla Collins, United Engineering Resources, Inc., has received the 2022 CMAA Award for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion. This award recognizes a CMAA member with a demonstrated commitment to equity, inclusion, social justice, community, and social responsibility, and a record of acting on that commitment. 

Darrin Lambrigger, PE, CCM, FCMAA, Port of Long Beach, has been honored with the 2022 CMAA Distinguished Owner Darrin LambriggerAward. This award recognizes an owner member who understands the value of a professional construction manager on the job and whose consistent actions have made meaningful and extraordinary contributions to the advancement of the construction management profession.

Michael CourtneyMichael Courtney, CCM, Cypress Construction Management, received the 2022 CMAA Distinguished Service Provider Award. This honor recognizes a service provider member whose consistent actions have made meaningful/extraordinary contributions to the advancement of the construction management profession, such as mentoring, advocating, promoting, and selecting construction management professionals.


Smita YamgarAshish RajmaneSmita Yamgar, CCM, Capital Project Management, Inc., and Ashish Rajmane, CMIT, APSI Construction Management, have both received the 2022 CMAA Distinguished Young Professional Award. This award recognizes and celebrates a full-time professional for outstanding professional accomplishments and a commitment to the construction management industry early in their career.


Farzad ShahbodaghlouDr. Farzad Shahbodaghlou, California State University East Bay, has been awarded the 2022 CMAA Mark Hasso Educator of the Year honor. This recognition emphasizes excellence in teaching and recognizes a full-time educator for outstanding professional accomplishments and a commitment to construction management education.

Ida ClairIda A. Clair, AIA, California State Architect, has received the 2022 CMAA Leader in Environmental Stewardship Award. This honor recognizes individuals, teams, or organizations, for outstanding leadership in innovation or best practices in guiding and aiding owners as they seek to define and meet their objectives for environmental stewardship throughout a project’s life cycle.

John MorseJustine BelizaireCraig SweetAlso awarded were the CCM Champion Coin of Excellence winners. The 2022 recipients include John Morse, CCM, Vice President, ATCS PLC; Justine Belizaire, CCM, Associate Vice President, HNTB; and Craig Sweet, CCM, Construction Manager, Parametrix. Each year, CMCI recognizes credential holders by awarding the Coins of Excellence. The coins are given to exceptional individuals who embody the highest standards of professionalism and support a culture of certification within the construction management industry.

“Each of our award winners work hard to make a difference, and we commend each of them for their achievements and contributions to the construction industry,” states CMAA President and CEO Andrea S. Rutledge, CAE.

CMAA will honor its award winners during the organization’s in-person conference, CMAA2022, October 9-11, 2022, in San Diego, Calif. Visit for more information.
Entries for the 2023 CMAA Industry Honors Awards program will open in March.

About CMAA

CMAA is dedicated to improving our nation’s infrastructure by advancing professional construction and program management worldwide. Its membership is made up of public and private organizations, owners, and practitioners. CMAA provides professional development, certification, advocacy, and business opportunities to its members and the entire CM industry. CMAA's headquarters is located in Vienna, VA, USA.